Good Night, Father God

You have captured my heart; I am at rest in You. I delight in Your way and am cuddled at all times safe in Your arms.

by Elizabeth Burgard Fulgaro (c) 2011   www.holyspiritpress.org   www.eaglesnestfoundation.org

Good night, Father God.  Thank You for the beautiful day.  There was enough to eat, people to love and mostly importantly, You were with me.

It is so nice to know that You are always with me!  You love me so much that I can’t really grasp it.  But, oh, how I rely on Your love!  And often I imagine myself wrapped in Your ever-loving arms, cuddled on Your lap – always safe, infinitely cherished and never abandoned, no matter what.

I used to be afraid to die because it seemed like the end.  But, oh Father God, now I understand.  I understand that the day of my death will be the day I enter Your Kingdom in heaven, but it won’t be the first day I live in Your kingdom.  You made me a citizen of Your kingdom the first day I professed my faith in You as Savior and Lord.  You adopted me that day as Your own and I became a citizen now.  Jesus says Your kingdom is here for those of us who believe.  So death won’t be the end, but just a door to come back home and into Your more intimate presence.

Wow, God, wow!  And Your love astounds me in another way.  I can never be perfect like You.  Never.  In fact, You made me that way, which at first doesn’t seem fair because You could have made all of us perfect like You and then life would have been so much easier.  Wouldn’t it?

I mean, there wouldn’t be evil because we all would just ignore temptation.  It wouldn’t tempt us because we would be perfect.  And so we would automatically love each other perfectly, and there would be no hate, or hurt feelings, or injuring one another…  Wouldn’t that be great?

Truly, I really wondered why You didn’t make us perfect like You – because it seems like such a good idea and all…But then I realized if we were perfect we wouldn’t have to choose whether we love You and You wouldn’t be able to demonstrate the awesome wonder of Your love for us through Jesus.   You want us to love You of our own free will.  You want us to know the depths of Your love.

So You set it up so Your Son would have to live and die for us.  Wow.  Sometimes, Father God, You are so awesome I just have no words.

And it comforts me that You say only if we become as children can we enter the Kingdom of heaven.  It makes me so free to know You will always forgive me when I ask.  It gives me such inner peace to know You have the plan for My life, already know the date You will call me home to heaven, and promise to protect and provide for me perfectly until then if I will seek to follow where You lead. I am in awe that You will teach those who seek to hear Your voice.  God talking to humanity!  I have hope because You promise that You will use all things for good in light of eternity for those called according to Your purpose.  I am filled with bubbling-over joy every time I remember and grasp a little more fully the depth of Your unconditional, unstoppable love…

Thank You for letting me ramble on like this, Father God.  Thank You for always listening.

I’m ready to listen to You now.  Anything You would like to tell me?  I am ready to hear.  I have quieted myself.  I choose to be at rest in You.

Good night.  Father God, thank You for another day.  I love You.

with my whole heart,

Your child

Selah! [Pause & calmly think of that!]

END

PLEASE view the new music video for “RESTORE” (with choir) on youtube:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=piQYnPY1vIA&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL     (Made by upcoming, Holy Spirit-filled film director, Olivia Mowry.) 

Elizabeth Fulgaro is a wife, mother, writer, inspirational speaker, worship leader, composer, singer & recording artist.  She is also a Certified Financial Planner and Accredited Financial Counselor with a heart for helping Christians understand and steward their finances God’s way. 

For books, worship cds, Bible studies and teachings written by Elizabeth Fulgaro or to schedule her to come speak to your group please visit www.holyspiritpress.org  Worship music audio clips can be found at www.cdbaby.com/Artist/ElizabethFulgaro For information on her work for the military and their families please visit www.eaglesnestfoundation.org   Eagles Nest Foundation is a 501(c)3 corporation. Contributions are tax-deductible.

This entry was posted in Devotion, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good Night, Father God

Leave a Reply

